Lynchburg City School Board Public Budget Hearing January 16, 2018

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:

Michael J. Nilles, Chairman James E. Coleman, Vice Chairman Robert O. Brennan Sharon Y. Carter Charleta F. Mason Susan D. Morrison Derek L. Polley Kimberly A. Sinha Katie K. Snyder Eva Marie Barauskaus, Student Representative, E. C. Glass High School Manan A. Shah, Student Representative, Heritage High School

BOARD MEMBERS ABSENT:

None

ADMINISTRATION PRESENT:

Larry A. Massie, Acting Superintendent Ben W. Copeland, Assistant Superintendent for Operations and Administration John C. McClain, Assistant Superintendent for Student Learning and Success Anthony E. Beckles, Sr., Chief Financial Officer LaTonya D. Brown, Director for Student Support, Behavior, and Alternative Education April M. Bruce, Director for Data, Assessment, and Accountability Steven L. Gatzke, Director for Facilities Marie F. Gee, Director for Personnel Michael K. Rudder, Director for School Improvement Russell E. Stone, Director for Transportation Wyllys D. VanDerwerker, Director for Exceptional Learners Dixie B. Sears, Supervisor for Language Arts, History, Library, and Foreign Language Maria T. Jaeger, Supervisor for Math and Science Wendie L. Sullivan, Clerk/Recording Secretary

MEDIA PRESENT:

Liz Ramos, The News & Advance

Agenda Items:

- A. Call to Order
- B. Public Comments
- C. Adjournment

A. Call to Order

The Lynchburg City School Board conducted its public budget hearing at 5:30 p.m. in the Board Room at the School Administration Building. Dr. Nilles opened the meeting and asked those in attendance to rise and recite *The Pledge of Allegiance.*

B. Public Comments

The following individuals shared comments with the school board:

John Meadows spoke on behalf of veteran teachers regarding inequities in the current teacher pay scale. Carl Hutcherson spoke about compensation for teachers.

Karl Loos spoke on behalf of the Lynchburg Education Association regarding compensation for all employees. Keith Lee spoke about his desire to promote the performing arts and enhance and develop this program in the schools for innovation.

C. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 5:49 p.m.

Michael J. Nilles, Chairman

Wendie L. Sullivan, Clerk