## Lynchburg City School Board Annual Retreat November 3, 2016

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:

Michael J. Nilles, Chairman Regina T. Dolan-Sewell, Vice Chairman Sharon Y. Carter James E. Coleman Charleta F. Mason Susan D. Morrison Derek L. Polley Jennifer R. Poore Katie K. Snyder

BOARD MEMBERS ABSENT:

None

## ADMINISTRATION PRESENT:

Scott S. Brabrand, Superintendent

Ben W. Copeland, Assistant Superintendent of Operations and Administration

John C. McClain, Assistant Superintendent of Student Learning and Success

Anthony E. Beckles, Sr., Chief Financial Officer

LaTonya D. Brown, Director for Student Support, Behavior, and Alternative Education

April M. Bruce, Director for Data, Assessment, and Accountability

David A. Childress, Director for Information Technology

Jason J. Ferguson, Director for Transportation

Marie F. Gee, Director for Personnel

Ethel E. Reeves, Director for Engagement, Equity, and Opportunity

Michael K. Rudder, Director for School Improvement

Wyllys D. VanDerwerker, Director for Exceptional Learners

Wendie L. Sullivan, Clerk/Recording Secretary

## MEDIA PRESENT:

Josh Moody, The News & Advance

The Lynchburg City School Board met at 8:45 a.m. at the GLTC Transfer Station in the second floor conference room. Dr. Nilles opened the meeting. Topics discussed during the meeting included Professional Development/Staff Training: Student Discipline – PBIS – Equity and Inclusiveness Guidelines; Public Information Outreach; School Start Times; SOL Test Score Trends; Teacher Pay Scales; School Board Finance Training; and Employee Assignments and Position Allocation.

The meeting adjourned at 4:35 p.m.

	Michael J. Nilles, Chairman
Wendie L. Sullivan, Clerk	_

(SCHOOL BOARD DOCUMENT FILES ARE LOCATED IN THE DEPARTMENT FOR FINANCE AT THE SCHOOL ADMINISTRATION BUILDING.)